Best AI Image Editor Alternatives in 2026
If you are shopping for an AI image editor, the three names you will hit first solve different problems. Adobe Photoshop is a professional pixel editor with generative features layered on top. Krea is a model playground with a realtime canvas and many image models. Image Editor AI is a browser workspace that sells generation and source-image editing by the credit.
This comparison uses each vendor's public pricing page and plan details, checked on 21 October 2026, plus the pricing catalog and model cost table published in the Image Editor AI repository. It separates documented facts from what the vendors leave unstated, and it shows the per-image arithmetic instead of stopping at the plan headline.
Quick verdict
| Question | Image Editor AI | Adobe Photoshop | Krea |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best for | Prompt-led generation and photo edits in a browser | Precise layered retouching and print work | Model experimentation and realtime image work |
| Type | Hosted AI image workspace | Desktop pixel editor plus generative AI | Hosted creative model platform |
| Free tier | Previews free; generation needs credits | No free plan; 7-day trial when offered | Free plan with 100 units per day |
| Entry price | $19.99 one-time for 500 credits | $22.99/month single app | $9/month Basic ($5 with yearly billing) |
| Included generation | 500 credits on the entry pack | 250 monthly generative credits | 5,000 monthly units |
| Default image cost | 10 credits for a 2K image | Not published per Generative Fill action | Units per image not published |
| Models | Nano Banana, Nano Banana 2, Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2, Seedream 4.0/4.5/5.0 Lite | Adobe Firefly models inside Photoshop | All image models, including third-party models |
| Layered editing | No | Yes, the core of the product | Limited compared with Photoshop |
| Watermark | None listed on paid plans | Not advertised | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Commercial terms | Governed by the site Terms of Service | Governed by Adobe's license | Paid plans include a commercial license per Krea's FAQ |
The short version: Photoshop is the deepest editor, Krea is the widest model playground, and Image Editor AI is the simplest credit-metered workspace.
What Image Editor AI actually is
Image Editor AI is a browser-based image workspace with two public image modes: text-to-image for new concepts and image-to-image for edits guided by a source image. A separate video workspace handles text-to-video, image-to-video, and reference-to-video, but it is not part of the image editing comparison here.
The image workspace exposes a model picker rather than a single fixed model. The documented choices include Nano Banana, Nano Banana 2, Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2, Seedream 4.0, Seedream 4.5, and Seedream 5.0 Lite. Availability and credit cost can vary by model and resolution, and the workspace shows the active model and cost before submission.
The credit table is concrete:
- Default text-to-image and image-to-image (Nano Banana 2): 5 credits at 1K, 10 at 2K, 15 at 4K.
- Nano Banana Pro: 10 credits at 1K, 18 at 2K, 30 at 4K.
- GPT Image 2: 8 credits at any of the listed resolutions.
- Seedream 4.0: 3 credits.
- Seedream 4.5: 4 credits.
Plans are sold as credit packs with an expiry window. The one-time Try pack is $19.99 for 500 credits valid for 30 days; Pro is $59.99 for 2,000 credits valid for 90 days; Max is $199.99 for 8,000 credits valid for 365 days. Monthly plans are $14.99 for 500 credits, $49.99 for 2,000, and $169.99 for 8,000, each valid for 30 days. Yearly plans are $119.88 for 6,000 credits, $359.88 for 24,000, and $1,199.88 for 96,000.
The paid plans list high-resolution image exports and no watermark. Generation requires purchased credits or an existing account balance; browsing previews is free. There is no layered canvas, no selection tools, and no typography engine. The product is a generation and edit workspace, not a replacement for a desktop editor.
What Adobe Photoshop actually is
Photoshop is the reference tool for pixel-level editing: layers, masks, channels, smart objects, typography, color management, and print preparation. Adobe has added generative features, including Generative Fill and other Firefly-powered actions, on top of that editor.
Adobe's public plan page, checked on 21 October 2026, lists:
- Photoshop single app: $22.99 per month, annual billed monthly, with 250 monthly generative credits. The prepaid annual price is listed as $263.88.
- Photography plan: $19.99 per month with 1,000 monthly generative credits, Photoshop, Firefly, Lightroom, Lightroom Classic, and 1TB of storage.
- Creative Cloud Pro: $34.99 per month for the first three months, then $69.99 per month, with 4,000 monthly generative credits.
The page distinguishes "access with generative credits" for standard features from "unlimited access" for some features on the top tier. It does not publish a credit cost for an individual Generative Fill action, so a per-edit comparison is not possible from the plan page alone.
Where Photoshop wins is control. If the job requires a precise mask, a product cutout that survives print, a brand font, a layered file handed to another designer, or a color-managed export, a generation-first workspace is the wrong tool. Where it loses is speed and setup: a desktop install, a subscription, and a learning curve stand between a new user and a quick social image.
What Krea actually is
Krea is a hosted creative platform built around model access and a realtime canvas. Its public pricing page, checked on 21 October 2026, lists:
- Free: $0 with 100 units per day.
- Basic: $9 per month, or $5 per month with yearly billing, with 5,000 units per month.
- Pro: $35 per month, or $21 per month with yearly billing, with 20,000 units per month.
- Max: $105 per month, or $63 per month with yearly billing, with 60,000 units per month.
- Business: $200 per month, or $160 per month with yearly billing, with 80,000 units per month.
Krea's plan cards list all image models on Basic and above, upscaling, LoRA training, and concurrent image jobs. Its FAQ states that Basic, Pro, Max, Business, and Enterprise plans include a commercial license, and it describes use for marketing, advertising, products, and client work. The Free card also mentions a commercial license, which conflicts with the FAQ; confirm the current term before commercial use.
Krea does not publish how many units a single image consumes on the pricing page, so its plan prices cannot be converted to a per-image number from that page alone. The plan is best understood as a monthly capacity purchase, not a per-render price.
Pricing compared
The three products meter work differently: Image Editor AI sells expiring credit packs, Photoshop sells a subscription with a monthly generative allowance, and Krea sells monthly units.
| Cost item | Image Editor AI | Adobe Photoshop | Krea |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smallest paid entry | $19.99 one-time, 500 credits, 30 days | $22.99/month, 250 credits | $9/month, 5,000 units |
| Mid tier | $59.99 one-time, 2,000 credits, 90 days | $19.99/month Photography, 1,000 credits | $35/month, 20,000 units |
| Top public tier | $199.99 one-time, 8,000 credits, 365 days | $69.99/month CC Pro, 4,000 credits | $105/month, 60,000 units |
| Monthly option | $14.99 for 500 credits | Included in the subscription | Included in the plan |
| Yearly option | $119.88 for 6,000 credits | $263.88 prepaid for single app | $5–$63 per month equivalent |
| Credit expiry | 30, 90, or 365 days depending on pack | Monthly allowance | Monthly units; daily on Free |
| Published per-image cost | Yes, per model and resolution | No | No |
The per-image arithmetic for Image Editor AI is exact because the credit table is public. A default 2K image costs 10 credits:
- One-time Try, $19.99 for 500 credits: about $0.040 per credit, so about $0.40 per 2K image.
- Monthly Try, $14.99 for 500 credits: about $0.030 per credit, so about $0.30 per 2K image.
- Monthly Pro, $49.99 for 2,000 credits: about $0.025 per credit, so about $0.25 per 2K image.
- Monthly Max, $169.99 for 8,000 credits: about $0.021 per credit, so about $0.21 per 2K image.
- Yearly Pro, $359.88 for 24,000 credits: about $0.015 per credit, so about $0.15 per 2K image.
A 1K image costs 5 credits, so those per-image figures halve; a 4K image costs 15 credits, so they rise by half. Different models change the credit cost as well: Seedream 4.0 is 3 credits, GPT Image 2 is 8, and Nano Banana Pro is 18 at 2K.
Photoshop and Krea cannot be compared on a per-image basis from their public pricing pages. Photoshop publishes the monthly generative credit allowance but not the cost of one Generative Fill; Krea publishes monthly units but not the units per image. Any per-image claim for those two would be invented, so this page does not make one.
Editing depth, output, and rights
Editing depth. Photoshop is in a different class. Layers, masks, adjustment layers, smart objects, blend modes, and precise selections are the reason designers keep it. Krea offers a realtime canvas and model-driven editing but is not a layered production editor. Image Editor AI offers prompt-led edits and source-image guidance; it does not expose layers or masks.
Output. Image Editor AI lists high-resolution exports and no watermark on paid plans, and its credit table goes up to 4K on supported models. Photoshop's output controls are the most complete, including color profiles and print formats. Krea lists upscaling and model-dependent output; its pricing page does not state a watermark rule.
Rights. Image Editor AI sells credits under its Terms of Service, so commercial use depends on those terms and on your rights to the source image. Photoshop is governed by Adobe's license. Krea states a commercial license on paid plans in its FAQ, with the Free-plan conflict noted above. In every case, the pricing page is not the license; read the terms before client work.
Who each editor is for
Image Editor AI is for you if:
- You want prompt-led generation and source-image edits in a browser.
- You prefer pay-as-you-go credits to a subscription.
- You want to choose among several image models in one workspace.
- You need a 2K or 4K export without a desktop install.
- You edit occasionally and do not need layers.
Image Editor AI is not for you if:
- You need layers, masks, typography, or print-ready color management.
- You need credits that never expire; packs have 30, 90, or 365-day windows.
- You need a free generation allowance; previews are free but generation is paid.
- You need a documented per-image price for every model; costs vary by model and resolution.
Adobe Photoshop is for you if:
- You need precise, layered, repeatable retouching.
- You work with brand fonts, print files, or a design team.
- You want generative fills inside a mature editor.
- You can justify a monthly subscription.
Adobe Photoshop is not for you if:
- You want a quick browser edit with no install.
- You need the lowest possible cost per generated image.
- You do not need layers or print output.
Krea is for you if:
- You want to test many image models in one place.
- You want a realtime canvas and upscaling.
- You want small LoRA styles and high monthly generation volume.
- You need a commercial license on a paid plan.
Krea is not for you if:
- You need a layered pixel editor.
- You need a published per-image cost before buying.
- You need a free tier without a daily unit cap.
Three scenarios
"I need ten product images this afternoon and I do not have Photoshop." Use Image Editor AI's image-to-image mode with a source photo. At the monthly Pro rate, ten 2K images cost about 100 credits, or roughly $2.50 of the 2,000-credit allowance. Review one image before running the batch.
"I need to retouch a campaign photo for print and hand the file to another designer." Use Photoshop. The generative credits are a bonus, not the reason to buy; layers and color management are.
"I want to test five models on the same prompt before committing to a style." Use Krea's model access, or use Image Editor AI's model picker if you want a per-image credit price for each choice. Compare one output per model at the same resolution.
FAQ
What is the best AI image editor alternative to Photoshop?
It depends on the job. Photoshop is the strongest option for precise layered retouching, masks, typography, and print preparation, and its plans include monthly generative credits. A credit-based editor such as Image Editor AI is a better fit when you want prompt-led generation and source-image edits in a browser without a subscription or a desktop install. Krea is the better fit when you want to experiment across many image models and train small LoRA styles.
Is Image Editor AI free?
You can browse previews for free, but generation requires purchased credits or an existing account balance. The smallest one-time pack is $19.99 for 500 credits, valid for 30 days; the monthly Try plan is $14.99 for 500 credits with 30-day validity. A default 2K image costs 10 credits, so 500 credits cover 50 images at that setting before model or resolution changes.
How much does one AI-edited image cost?
On Image Editor AI, a default 2K image costs 10 credits. At the monthly Pro rate of $49.99 for 2,000 credits that is about $0.25 per image; at the monthly Try rate it is about $0.30; at the yearly Pro rate it is about $0.15. A 1K image costs 5 credits and a 4K image costs 15 credits on the default model, so the per-image cost halves or rises by half with the resolution.
Does Photoshop include AI image generation?
Yes. Adobe lists Generative Fill and other generative features as available with generative credits on Photoshop and Photography plans, and the plans include 250, 1,000, or 4,000 monthly generative credits depending on the tier. The plan page does not publish a credit cost per individual Generative Fill action, so compare the monthly allowance rather than a per-edit price.
Is Krea cheaper than Photoshop?
Krea lists Basic at $9 per month ($5 per month with yearly billing) with 5,000 units, and Pro at $35 per month ($21 with yearly billing) with 20,000 units. Photoshop single app is $22.99 per month with 250 generative credits. Krea gives more generation volume per dollar, but it is not a layered pixel editor, and its pricing page does not publish how many units one image consumes.
Do these editors watermark exports?
Image Editor AI lists no watermark and high-resolution image exports on its paid plans. Adobe Photoshop plans do not advertise a watermark on exports. Krea does not state a watermark on its pricing page. Always inspect a test export before publishing, because model and plan behavior can change.
Can I use the images commercially?
Image Editor AI sells credits under its Terms of Service, so your rights depend on those terms and on the rights you hold in the source image. Adobe and Krea each have their own license terms; Krea states that paid plans include a commercial license, while its FAQ excludes the Free plan. Do not treat a pricing page as a license: read the vendor terms before client or advertising work.
Which editor should I choose?
Choose Image Editor AI for quick prompt-led generation and source-image edits in a browser with pay-as-you-go credits. Choose Photoshop for precise, layered, print-ready retouching and a mature desktop workflow. Choose Krea for broad model access, realtime experimentation, upscaling, and small custom styles. The three overlap at the generated image, not at the editing desk.
Sources
- Image Editor AI pricing catalog and model credit table in this site's public repository, checked 21 October 2026: one-time packs of $19.99/500 credits, $59.99/2,000 and $199.99/8,000 with 30/90/365-day validity; monthly and yearly plans; default 2K image at 10 credits, 1K at 5 and 4K at 15; model-specific costs for Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2, and Seedream.
- Image Editor AI pricing page, https://imageeditorai.net/pricing — accessed 21 October 2026. Lists the public credit packs and plan features, including high-resolution exports and no watermark.
- Adobe Photoshop plans page, https://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/plans.html — accessed 21 October 2026. Lists $22.99/month single app with 250 monthly generative credits, the $19.99/month Photography plan with 1,000 credits, and Creative Cloud Pro at $69.99/month with 4,000 credits.
- Krea pricing page, https://www.krea.ai/pricing — accessed 21 October 2026. Lists Free, Basic, Pro, Max and Business plans, monthly and yearly prices, and unit allowances; the FAQ states that paid plans include a commercial license.
Prices, model availability and plan terms change. Re-check the linked pages and the vendor terms before you buy; the per-image figures here are worked examples from the access date, not standing quotes.